Windows Phone development – Pride before fall

18 11 2009

I’ve agreed to take on more work in the shape of some edge cutting Windows Phone development. Only problem is I’ve never developed for Windows Mobile even less Windows Phone. My main concern is the lack of information on the subject. I’ll have to pray and hope that divine inspiration comes to me and helps me in my stride to create a good application.

If someone knows of any resources for mobile development, now would be a good time to start using the comment system.

WinPhone_v_web

Today’s Song (Click for Spotify link)

image

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 11 2009
molndrift

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.NET_Compact_Framework is not to bad for an overview :) I have had some problems with encryption in the .net compact framework but was able to make a workaround. Can be hard to just “port” classes between the compact framwork and the normal if using class libraries :)

But i would say the old was quite straight forward, the new phone i dont know.

Lycka till!

19 11 2009
fragiledevelopment

TYVM! I was a bit underwhelmed with the possibilities offered by mobile development. I was very disappointed that WinMob6.5 wasn’t jQuery compliant. We’ll see how the whole thing turns out but this is certainly a step in the right direction.

19 11 2009
molndrift

NP, Silverlight for mobile still doesn’t exist what i understand either, and i started to look at/for it a couple of years ago, but nothing released then, nothing now. Thats why i again use iPhone…
There is demos of silverlight but what i understand it will be there in winmo 7 but i dont have a winmo 7 either so who knows…

You are grapicaly handicapped when working with the old winmo’s and just plain forms, no WPF either.

20 11 2009
Viktor Larsson

YEs, that’s become painfully obvious by now. I can’t even seem to handle images the way I want. I’ll have to go read some books on the subject. I guess this will have to be one of those really unpleasant experiences that teaches me the value of what I usually work with :P

Leave a Reply

